Juniors win powderpuff [photo gallery]

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
  • The annual Homecoming Powderpuff game was held at Dick Tharp Field on Sunday, Sept. 19 at 4 p.m. This year’s Powderpuff tournament took a different format than in year’s passed because of a low turnout of junior players. Two junior teams played a best-of-three series, while the five senior teams competed in bracket-style play. The winner of each level faced off in the championship game.

  • Junior Addison Weyrauch (left) attempts to pull Katie Lee’s (right) flag. Weyrauch’s junior team defeated their opponents in two straight games to take on the seniors.

  • Part of the annual tradition is the players’ opportunity to choose the name on the back of their jerseys.

  • Before Sunday’s competition, the teams were coached by varsity football players in preparation for the game. Coach Joey Fela congratulates his team of seniors as they head off the field.

  • Mr. Jason Drengwitz and Mr. Paul Krogmeirer served as officials, making calls during the games.

  • In the championship game, the senior team of Bailey Miller, Ashley Sweeney, Madelyn Bean, Cadan Brinkman, Rylee Jones, Paige Walker, Jenna Crossley, Olivia Parker, Kamdyn Shickel, and Megan Manning took on the junior roster of Kaylee Barton, Morgan Sutter, Mallory Thomison, Addison Weyrauch, Taylor Temples, Abby Hutchinson, Carlie Russell, Annika Brown, Skyler Dixon, Lilly McClelland, Kiara McCoy, Emma Forman, and Annie Blair.

  • Receiver Megan Manning didn’t attend either of the practices but still caught several touchdown passes and was a focal point of her team’s offense. She (jokingly) attributed her success to “natural talent.”

  • Addison Weyrauch said, “I’m extra pumped up… I just wanna see what it feels like to play football to see what the boys have to deal with.”

  • The coaches talked to their teams during a break in the game. Junior coach Elliott Oliver said, “As long as we execute how we did last time [in the Junior Qualifying Game] it should be a good game.”

  • The junior team celebrates their 5-4 win, scoring a touchdown in the winner-take-all double overtime.